Parents, teachers, community leaders and lawmakers from around our state are coming together on behalf of Colorado students. All kids deserve opportunities to succeed. Take action to thank or hold your legislator accountable today! Click for a sample call script or sample email.


Find Your State Legislator

Type your address in the box below:

Contact your Senator today! (Green indicates a positive vote on school finance and Red indicates a negative vote. Green should receive a thank you message and Red should be held accountable. Here is a record of the vote):

Senator Phone Email
Andy Kerr 303-866-4859 SenatorAndyKerr@gmail.com
Angela Williams 303-866-4864 angela.williams.senate@state.co.us
Beth Martinez Humenik 303-866-4863 beth.martinezhumenik.senate@state.co.us
Bob Gardner 303-866-4880 bob.gardner.senate@state.co.us
Cheri Jahn 303-866-4856 cheri.jahn.senate@state.co.us
Chris Holbert 303-866-4881 chris.holbert.senate@state.co.us
Daniel Kagan 303-866-4846 senatordanielkagan@gmail.com
Domenick Moreno 303-866-4857 dominick.moreno.senate@state.co.us
Don Coram 303-866-4884 don.coram.senate@state.co.us
Irene Aguilar 303-866-4852 irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us
Jack Tate 303-866-4883 jack.tate.senate@state.co.us
James Smallwood 303-866-4869 senatorsmallwood@gmail.com
Jerry Sonnenberg 303-866-6360 senatorsonnenberg@gmail.com
John Cooke 303-866-4451 john.cooke.senate@state.co.us
John Kefalas 303-866-4841 john.kefalas.senate@state.co.us
Kent Lambert 303-866-4835 senatorlambert@comcast.net
Kerry Donovan 303-866-4871 kerry.donovan.senate@state.co.us
Kevin Grantham 303-866-4877 kevin.grantham.senate@state.co.us
Kevin Lundberg 303-866-4853 kevin@kevinlundberg.com
Kevin Priola 303-866-4855 kpriola@gmail.com
Larry Crowder 303-866-4875 larry.crowder.senate@state.co.us
Leroy Garcia 303-866-4878 leroy.garcia.senate@state.co.us
Lois Court 303-866-4861 lois.court.senate@state.co.us
Lucia Guzman 303-866-4862 lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us
Matt Jones 303-866-5291 senatormattjones@gmail.com
Michael Merrifield 303-866-6364 michael.merrifield.senate@state.co.us
Nancy Todd 303-866-3432 nancy.todd.senate@state.co.us
Owen Hill 303-866-2737 owen.hill.senate@state.co.us
Rachel Zenzinger 303-866-4840 senatorrachelz@gmail.com
Randy Baumgardner 303-866-5292 randy.baumgardner.senate@state.co.us
Ray Scott 303-866-3077 ray.scott.senate@state.co.us
Rhonda Fields 303-866-4879 rhonda.fields.senate@state.co.us
Stephen Fenberg 303-866-4872 stephen.fenberg.senate@state.co.us
Tim Neville 303-866-4873 tim.neville.senate@state.co.us
Vicki Marble 303-866-4876 vicki.marble.senate@state.co.us

 

Sample Call Script – Thank Your Lawmakers:

“Hi, My name is_______. I live in ___(town)__.

I want to thank _______________ for their vote to increase education funding, especially for teacher salaries, mental health services, and special education. Student achievement and the future of our state depends on it. I’d like to leave my name and contact information. Thank you for taking my call.

 

Sample Call Script – Hold Your Lawmakers Accountable:

Hi, My name is_______. I live in ___(town)__.

I want to tell _______________ how disappointed I am that they failed to support increasing funding for education, especially for teacher salaries, mental health services, and special education. Teachers’ salaries are not keeping pace with the cost of living in our state – pay has declined 7.7% in Colorado over the last decade. It’s not surprising that we have a teacher shortage. Rural communities in Colorado are struggling the most in attracting and retaining high quality educators.

Colorado should be at the forefront of mental health care in schools, especially after Columbine. We need to increase funding for special education, so we are not at the bottom in comparison to other states.

I know that there are a lot of competing priorities in our state, but I hope ______ takes the time to learn more about these issues. We don’t want to fall behind when it comes to the future of our children or the future of our state’s economy.

Please take down my name and contact information, so you can let me know how she/he responds. (You can have them repeat your contact info back to you, to make sure it’s correct.)

Thank you for taking my call.

 

Sample Email –  Thank You:

Dear________________,

I am writing to thank you for championing education funding during this year’s legislative session. It’s good to know that I can trust you to balance the competing demands for our state’s limited budget. Thank you for understanding the importance of increasing teacher salaries, as well as boosting spending on special education and mental health services. The future of our children, communities and state depends on it.

Sincerely,

__________________

Town, Zip Code

 

Sample Email –  Hold Your Lawmaker Accountable:

Dear ____________,

As my State Representative, I know you face tough decisions about how to allocate our limited state funds. I was disappointed that you didn’t see the need for more money for education, especially the importance of raising teacher salaries. Competitive teacher salaries are critical so we can attract and retain high quality teachers in our communities. It’s hard to keep good educators when teacher pay has declined 7.7% in Colorado over the past decade while the cost of living has gone up dramatically. The average starting salary for teachers in Colorado is 9% lower than the national average. As a result, the state annually licenses approximately 50% of its teachers from out-of-state, fewer people are becoming teachers, and there is a significant teacher shortage, especially in rural communities.

It is also crucial to increase funding for mental health – 20% of kids in Colorado have thought about suicide – as well as special education funding. We are near the bottom in special education funding when compared to other states – only Oklahoma and Arizona spend less than we do. This has to change.

We don’t want to fall behind when it comes to the future of our children or the future of our state’s economy.

I hope you will take some time to look into these pressing issues and that you will prioritize education funding when given the opportunity.

Sincerely,

________________

Town, Zip Code

Back to Top

News From the Campaign:

Kids Matter Too Coalition Working to Secure Education Funding from Budget Surplus

Statewide Coalition of Parents and Educators Calling on Lawmakers to Provide Critical Resources for Kids Denver, CO – Today, the Legislative Council announced that the General Fund revenue forecast for FY 2018-19 is higher by $1.3 billion relative to the December forecast. Governor John Hickenlooper’s Office released a statement today earmarking $200 million for the State Education Fund. The Kids … Continued

Community: